Graphic created by Amani Salahudeen

Synopsis

Public radio hosts deal with mixed signals and an enemies to lovers that will have readers swooning over the romance in Rachel Lynn Solomon’s debut novel.

Shay Goldstein has been working at her radio station for almost a decade and she can’t imagine being anywhere else. She’s been working her dream job but lately things haven’t been as easy as they usually are. Her newest colleague, Dominic Yun, is a recent Journalism graduate with a Master’s degree and is convinced he knows everything there is to know about public radio.

When Shay’s beloved station is in need of a new idea, Shay pitches The Ex Talk. A place for exes to give their relationship advice live on the air. Their boss believes this will sell since Shay and Dominic already hate each other. Although they don’t want to lie to their listeners but it’s better than the alternative which would be: unemployment.

Review

I couldn’t stop smiling as I was reading this book. I’m a sucker for a good enemies-to-lovers and this was perfect for me! If you love listening to podcasts or enemies -to lovers that will make you fall in love with the story then this is for you!

For those of you who don’t know my friend and I also host a podcast called Raise Your Words and I love reading books where the protagonists are podcast hosts. In our recent episode, we interview the hosts of Brown Girls Read and talk about starting (and maintaining) a podcast!

One of my favorite lines is when Dominic said, “It’s your typical co-workers turned enemies turned fake exes turned real romantic partners kind of story.” It pretty much sums it up perfectly in one sentence and if you’re in a mood for a feel-good rom-com book then this is for you!

This is an Adult Rom-Com book that is also an ideal book to read in time for Valentine’s Day. Thank you to NetGalley and Berkley Publisher.

Rating

5/5 stars
5/5 stars

Although it’s a little predictable at times, the romance is incredible and you’ll fall in love with the story. Shay and Dominic’s banter kept me interested and I’m so happy I got to read this before it was released.

If you’d like to get your copy of The Ex Talk you can check it out here! You can follow the author on Twitter here for updates on her upcoming books.

If you’d like to stay updated on where I post when I’m not writing for this blog, check out my link here! If you read The Ex Talk feel free to share your thoughts in the comments below!

One thought on “The Ex Talk is Perfect for Fans of Podcasts and Enemies-to-Lovers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s